Skip to content

Bout of Books 6.0 Wrap Up

January 14, 2013

Alien TangoI spent most of yesterday assuming that I would fail to meet my goals for this round of the Bout of Books.  But Gini Koch’s prose zipped me through to the finish line.  I re-read the first book in this series at the tail end of my vacation and had this one out on my desk to read through.  Once I’d given up on my zombie theme I just grabbed books as they caught my fancy.  So I read Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter, The Ghost Brigades by John Scalzi, The Secret Adversary by Agatha Christie (an Agatha Christie I hadn’t read before!  Who knew there were any of those out there?), and then I finished up with Alien Tango by Gini Koch.

Kitty has settled into the swing of things at the Centurion Division.  She’s got her on division – The Airborne Unit, and she’s ready to kick some butt.  Only, the parasites are slowing down.  There hasn’t been much activity and none at all that requires air support.  Kitty really should appreciate the time to relax while she’s got it.   Before she knows what’s happening there’s a call to come to the Kennedy Space Center, where she will meet her alien boyfriend’s parents (who hate her), face off against a paranoid anti-alien group that wants to wipe out all A-C’s and everyone who cares about them, and deal with the Machiavellian machinations of a rogue Congressman, and Jeff’s mother.
The immediate situation is that three astronauts in an experimental craft made an unexpected contact on their way into space.  They, and it, came right back to earth.  The three astronauts are now in quarantine, oh, and one just happens to be Kitty’s high school boyfriend.  Could things get any weirder?  Silly question, of course they could.

Ok, look, any book that uses alligators as an attack strategy is high on my list of awesome things.  No, I’m not explaining that.  You’ll have to go read it yourself.  I’m currently reading book #3 – An Alien in the Family.  The covers in this series aren’t great.  But, they’re the sci-fi paranormal romance, but Kitty is cynical about the whole Alpha-male thing, which makes me happy.  She’s snarky, she listens to inappropriate music in life or death situations, and she’s irreverent.  All of which I like.

So, the Bout of Books was really fun.  I will definitely do it again.  And an extra thank you to Gini Koch for being so fun that I met my goals!

No comments yet

Leave a comment